Americas Award

CLASP founded the Américas Award in 1993 to encourage and commend authors, illustrators and publishers who produce quality children’s and young adult books that portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinx cultures in the United States, and to provide teachers with recommendations for classroom use. CLASP offers up to two annual book awards, together with a commended list of titles.

Download the Américas Award Toolkit here!
Purchase award seals for your books here.

Contact the Américas Award Coordinator
Denise Woltering-Vargas, Tulane University
Katrina Dillon, Arizona University